A no-nonsense guide to making it through the second trimester of pregnancy

You made it through that first queasy trimester, Congratulations!

Throughout pregnancy, I heard a lot of people call the 2nd trimester the ‘easy’ trimester, the ‘honeymoon’ trimester or the ‘best’ trimester. ha!

Don’t get me wrong, it was probably the ‘better’ of the trimesters; you’ve had your 12 week scan, you’ve seen your little baby growing, some of the anxiety starts to ease (and hopefully the ‘morning’ sickness). But in no way would I call anything relating to pregnancy easy! After all, you are growing a human inside your body!

So, what did I enjoy about the second trimester?

  1. Being in the ‘safe‘ period! You’ve had that ultrasound, and your little baby growing! Some of that anxiety about the safety of the baby can finally leave you.
  2. Feeling ‘OK’ about sharing the news with everyone. Whether or not you told people the exciting news prior to now or not, you’ll generally feel a bit more excited and at ease about sharing it now. I waited until here to tell work (although most people had probably figured it out by then anyway!)
  3. The eventual subduing of morning sickness. Don’t be fooled by people who say it only lasts for the first trimester though, because for the majority of people it will continue to linger for a while (mine hung around till about week 16 / 17 ). Hang in there, the end is near!
  4. THE KICKS!!! I think I felt my first one about week 18. It was a sunday night and I was lying on the couch. I remember not being sure whether or not it WAS a kick, but they increased in frequency and intensity over the coming weeks, so looking back I can say it was the first of many. (note. Sometimes you’ll feel them much earlier or later, often later if your placenta is sitting at the front).
  5. 20 week scan. Its so lovely to see your baby again and get the full A-OK! Plus… you have the option of finding out the sex (if thats what you and your partner want to do)! We did, I’m too bloody organised to have not found out.
  6. Babymoon! I urge you and your partner to take a baby moon. After all,  you deserve it. Think: relaxation and luxury. We took a trip up to Byron Bay and stayed at ‘The Byron at Byron’. We spent our days lounging by the pool and reading books. It was heaven.

The not-so greats?

  1. Theres no nice way to put this, but constipation. Your tummy is starting to get squished, your organs are moving around and pregnancy is causing your ‘system’ to slow down. You already probably feel big and uncomfortable enough as it is, without the added joys of constipation. I tried EVERYTHING that was pregnancy safe, and the thing that worked for me was Movicol (keep increasing until you get the right balance). Regular exercise and lots of water  helps too!
  2. Stretch Marks: NOW is the time to start thinking about doing all you can to help prevent those pesky stretch marks. While i’m not sure that anything can actually prevent them (or that anything has been proven to work), I think keeping your skin well hydrated and moisturised has surely got to help. And if nothing else, it will help with the itch! I used ‘Mother’s special blend: all natural skin toning all’. You can get it from iherb.com. It’s well priced, smells good, doesn’t get on your clothes and I managed to walk away unscathed (mostly)!
  3. People’s comments: I’ve spoken to some of my friends about this and they didn’t have the same experience (not to the degree I did anyway), but for me, every single person I knew (or didn’t know) started to comment about my belly and its size. It was like my body all of a sudden wasn’t mine and people felt they had free-range to tell me how ‘huge’ I was. I got everything from “WOW”, “Are you SURE you have your dates right?”, “You’re going to need a bigger car space soon”; oh and my personal favourite “Are you sure its not twins?!!!”. I use to cry about these comments, a lot. If you get anything of similar nature, I urge you to prepare some amazingly witty comeback and throw those comments back in people’s face. Do it for my sake!

On that note, its probably about time to start to thinking about clothing to dress that growing bump of yours. I’ve got a whole post about it here but my short advice? Stick to simple basics that you are comfortable in (if you have to live in that one black dress, so be it) and try not to buy too much.

You’re almost into the third trimester, and shit’s about to get REAL!

A no-nonsense guide to making it through the third (and final!) trimester of pregnancy

Bringing on labour

Top 10 essentials for a new mum

Top essentials for a new baby

What to pack in your baby bag (the early days)

Postpartum recovery

Best places to shop for WELL PRICED baby wear

_______________________________________________________________

Follow me on instagram here

Follow me on pinterest here

2 thoughts on “A no-nonsense guide to making it through the second trimester of pregnancy

Leave a Reply

